Chemical and biological references

Profile

Every day we use many different products and services without even thinking about it, ranging from food to plastics, cosmetics and cleaning agents. We trust manufacturers of these products to comply with recommended health guidelines. In exactly the same way, we rely on clinical laboratory testing when it comes to making decisions in the healthcare system.

In the “Chemical and biological references” division, our services enable industry, the research sector and administrative bodies to perform reliable, accurate and traceable measurements. In order to ensure that these measurements are comparable, we provide traceability to internationally agreed reference values.

To guarantee high-quality and efficient analysis, we continuously advocate the development of new analysis methods and the further development of existing ones. The “Chemical and biological references” laboratory is accredited alongside the “Chemical tests and consultancy” division, under standard SN EN ISO/IEC 17025:2018, accreditation number STS 0119.

In order to keep pace with developments regarding the state of the art, we are continuously enhancing our measuring capabilities. To that end, we conduct various research and development projects.

Services

We examine a wide variety of analytes, for example:

  • various process contaminants
  • toxic elements and polyaromatic hydrocarbons in food
  • volatile organic compounds, for example allergenic fragrances
  • biocides and preservatives
  • nucleic acids: at the limit of detection

 

On behalf of the Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office, we run reference laboratories for elements and polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs). (Link)

We perform analyses relating to chemicals legislation on behalf of the Federal Office of Public Health.

Our clients are mainly administrative units of the Swiss Confederation, but our experience in traceable analysis (also trace analysis) is available to all interested parties on request.


Using reference materials traced to the SI system (“metrologically traceable”) is the method of choice in order to guarantee the comparability of measurements, and thus  their quality, in the long term. In this context, we position ourselves as a reliable point of contact and service provider, and are happy to provide information about the added value of metrology.

Consultations
If you have any questions about our services or require a consultation, we will be happy to be of assistance. Contact us with no obligation on your part.

Research and development

We keep our measurement facilities and expertise at the forefront of technology with the aid of research and development projects. This enables us to continue offering the required services and promoting innovation in the years to come. At the same time, we work with other metrology institutes, universities, administrative bodies and industry.

In the context of the EURAMET research programmes, we are also involved in several European projects.

 

Our R&D focal points are:

Metrology in food safety 

Contaminants are materials which unintentionally end up in food, e.g. during the production process. They are undesirable due to their toxicity and require special attention during analysis. Thanks to our highly accurate measuring devices and procedures, we can guarantee the traceability of contaminants in food/food matrices based on internationally agreed reference values. This is made possible, on the one hand, by the “Metrology in food safety” project and, on the other hand, because of our capacity as a reference laboratory for polyaromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs) and “chemical elements”.

 

Nucleic acid metrology 

Clinical laboratory measurements play a key role in medicine and are provided in Switzerland in very high quality. However, they are currently only partially comparable. Metrologically traced measurement values could bring about considerable improvements in this respect. With the “Nucleic acid metrology” project, METAS wants to create the foundations for metrologically traceable measurements of nucleic acids.

Analysing nucleic acids is a sub-discipline of laboratory medicine with great future potential: measurement accuracy and comparability are particularly important when it comes to biological analytes which are relevant in the long term. As part of its efforts to develop and establish this area, METAS is setting up a metrological laboratory for laboratory medicine with a focus on nucleic acids.

Last modification 08.10.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Institute of Metrology
Laboratory Chemical and biological references
Lindenweg 50
CH-3003 Bern-Wabern
T +41 58 387 01 11
elements@metas.ch

Print contact

https://www.sem.admin.ch/content/metas/en/home/fabe/chemische_und_biologische_referenzen.html

Chemische und biologische Referenzen

Portrait

Ganz selbstverständlich nutzen wir täglich verschiedenste Produkte und Dienstleistungen, von Lebensmitteln über Kunststoffe oder Kosmetika bis hin zu Reinigungsmitteln. Wir vertrauen darauf, dass bei der Herstellung dieser Produkte gesundheitlich relevante Richtwerte eingehalten werden. Genauso verlassen wir auf uns im Gesundheitswesen bei Entscheidungen auf labormedizinische Analysen.

Im Fachbereich «Chemische und Biologische Referenzen» ermöglichen wir mit unseren Dienstleistungen der Industrie, Forschung und Verwaltung, zuverlässig, genau und rückführbar messen zu können. Damit diese Messungen vergleichbar sind, unterstützen wir die Rückführung auf international abgestimmte Referenzwerte.

Zur Gewährleistung einer qualitativ hochstehenden und effizienten Analytik setzen wir uns stetig für die Entwicklung neuer und die Weiterentwicklung bestehender Analysenmethoden ein. Das Labor "Chemische und Biologische Referenzen" ist zusammen mit dem Bereich "Chemische Prüfungen und Beratungen" akkreditiert, unter der Norm SN EN ISO/IEC 17025:2018, Akkreditierungsnummer STS 0119.

Um mit dem Stand der Technik Schritt zu halten, entwickeln wir unsere Messmöglichkeiten laufend weiter. Dazu führen wir verschiedene Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte durch.

Dienstleistungen

Wir untersuchen eine Vielzahl unterschiedlichster Analyten, zum Beispiel:

  • diverse Prozesskontaminanten
  • toxische Elemente und polyaromatische Kohlenwasserstoffe in Lebensmitteln
  • flüchtige organische Verbindungen, beispielsweise allergene Duftstoffe
  • Biozide und Konservierungsstoffe
  • Nukleinsäure: Bestimmungen an der Nachweisgrenze

 

Im Auftrag des Bundesamtes für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinärwesen führen wir Referenzlabore für Elemente und polyzyklische Aromaten (PAK). (Link)

Im Auftrag des Bundesamtes für Gesundheit führen wir Analysen in Bezug auf das Chemikalienrecht durch.

Unsere Auftraggeber sind in erster Linie Verwaltungseinheiten der Eidgenossenschaft, unsere Erfahrungen in der rückführbaren Analytik (auch Spurenanalytik) stehen auf Anfrage jedoch allen Interessenten zur Verfügung.

Auf das SI-System zurückgeführte ("metrologisch rückführbare") Referenzmaterialien sind der Weg der Wahl, um die Vergleichbarkeit von Messungen und damit ihre Qualität langfristig sicherzustellen. Wir positionieren uns dabei als verlässlicher Ansprechpartner und Dienstleister, und informieren gerne über den Mehrwert der Metrologie.

Beratungen
Wenn Sie Fragen zu unseren Dienstleistungen haben oder eine Beratung benötigen, sind wir gerne für Sie da. Kontaktieren Sie uns unverbindlich.

Forschung und Entwicklung

Mit Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekten halten wir unsere Messeinrichtungen und Kompetenzen auf dem Stand der Technik. So können wir auch in Zukunft die benötigten Dienstleistungen anbieten und Innovationen fördern. Dabei arbeiten wir mit anderen Metrologieinstituten, Hochschulen, der Verwaltung und der Industrie zusammen.

Im Rahmen der Forschungsprogramme von EURAMET sind wir auch an mehreren europäischen Projekten beteiligt.

 

Unsere F&E-Schwerpunkte sind:

Metrologie in der Lebensmittelsicherheit

Als Kontaminanten werden Stoffe bezeichnet, die z.B. während des Produktionsprozesses unabsichtlich in Lebensmittel gelangen. Sie sind wegen ihrer Toxizität unerwünscht und erfordern bei der Analytik ein spezielles Augenmerk. Wir gewährleisten mit unseren hochgenauen Messgeräten und Messverfahren die Rückführung von Kontaminanten in Lebensmitteln/Lebensmittelmatrizes auf international abgestimmte Referenzwerte. Dies einerseits mit dem Projekt «Metrologie in der Lebensmittelsicherheit» und andererseits in unserer Funktion als Referenzlaboratorien für polyaromatische Kohlenwasserstoffe (PAK) und für "Chemische Elemente".

 

Nukleinsäuremetrologie

Labormedizinische Messungen spielen in der Medizin eine zentrale Rolle und werden in der Schweiz in sehr hoher Qualität erbracht. Sie sind heute aber nur zum Teil miteinander vergleichbar. Metrologisch rückgeführte Messwerte könnten hier erhebliche Verbesserungen bringen. Mit dem Projekt "Nukleinsäuremetrologie" will das METAS die Grundlagen für metrologisch rückführbare Messungen von Nukleinsäuren schaffen.

Die Analyse von Nukleinsäuren ist ein Teilbereich der Labormedizin mit grossem Zukunftspotenzial: Messgenauigkeit und Vergleichbarkeit sind gerade bei langfristig relevanten biologischen Analyten von besonderer Bedeutung. Das METAS baut für diese Entwicklungs- und Aufbauarbeit ein metrologisches Labor für die Labormedizin mit dem Schwerpunkt Nukleinsäuren auf.

Letzte Änderung 08.10.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Eidgenössisches Institut für Metrologie
Chemische und biologische Referenzen
Lindenweg 50
CH-3003 Bern-Wabern
T +41 58 387 01 11
References@metas.ch

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.ejpd.admin.ch/content/metas/de/home/fabe/chemische_und_biologische_referenzen.html