Reference laboratory for chemical elements

Portrait

Chemical elements are usually understood to mean metals. Some are indispensable to life in the form of trace elements; others may be poisonous even in very small quantities. They may be absorbed from the environment by plants, animal fodder and fish and end up unintentionally in foodstuffs. They may also be absorbed during the processing of foodstuffs such as through unsuitable earthenware. Because they may have negative effects on health (poisoning or giving rise to illnesses), threshold values have been defined for chemical elements in foodstuffs. Accurate analyses regarding these elements are therefore called for.
METAS maintains a portfolio of analyses in the trace level range. We carry out this analysis in the national reference laboratory for chemical elements on behalf of the Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office, mainly using inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometry (ICP-MS).
 

Proficiency Testing

Method validations and other comparative studies

In order to be able to continue offering our analysis at the highest level, we take part in the method validation studies organised by the EU Reference Laboratory and in the proficiency tests organised by the EU Reference Laboratory.

If necessary, we will organise or arrange proficiency tests for the cantonal laboratories.

Conferences

As the national reference laboratory for chemical elements in foodstuffs, we represent Switzerland in the meetings and working groups organised by the European network. The goal of this collaboration is to foster exchange, pass on the recommendations of the EU reference laboratories and take note of the feedback from the cantonal laboratories tasked with the official controls.

We organise annual exchanges of experience in the analysis of chemical elements in foodstuffs. 

The meeting of the national reference labs for toxic elements will take place on 19 November 2020. For further information, please contact this e-mail address: Elements@metas.ch

Federal Institute of Metrology
Reference laboratory for chemical elements
Lindenweg 50
CH-3003 Bern-Wabern

Last modification 08.10.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Institute of Metrology
Laboratory Chemical and biological references
Lindenweg 50
CH-3003 Bern-Wabern
T +41 58 387 01 11
elements@metas.ch

Print contact

https://www.metas.ch/content/metas/en/home/dl/nationale-referenzlaboratorien/referenzlabor-chemische-elemente.html

Referenzlabor für chemische Elemente

Porträt

Mit chemischen Elementen sind vorwiegend Metalle gemeint. Einige sind als Spurenelemente lebensnotwendig, andere können bereits in kleinen Mengen giftig sein. Sie können von Pflanzen, Futtermitteln und Fischen aus der Umwelt gespeichert werden und unabsichtlich in die Lebensmittel gelangen. Sie können auch bei der Verarbeitung von Lebensmitteln aufgenommen werden, z.B. durch ungeeignete Töpferware. Weil sie negative Auswirkungen auf die Gesundheit haben können (Vergiftungen oder Auslösen von Krankheiten) sind Grenzwerte für chemische Elemente in Lebensmitteln definiert worden. Entsprechend ist man auf genaue Analysen dieser Elemente angewiesen.

Das METAS unterhält ein Portfolio von Analysen von Elementen im Spurenbereich. Im Nationalen Referenzlabor für chemische Elemente führen wir diese Analytik im Auftrag des Bundesamtes für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinärwesen hauptsächlich mittels Massenspektroskopie mit induktiv gekoppeltem Plasma (ICP-MS) durch.

 

 

Eignungsprüfungen

Methodenvalidierungen und Eignungsprüfungen

Um unsere Analytik auch in Zukunft auf höchstem Niveau anbieten zu können, nehmen wir an den vom EU-Referenzlabor organisierten Methodenvalidierungsstudien und an den vom EU-Referenzlabor organisierten Eignungsprüfungen teil.

Bei entsprechenden Bedarf werden wir für die kantonalen Laboratorien Eignungsprüfungen organisieren bzw. vermitteln

Tagungen

Als nationales Referenzlaboratorium für chemische Elemente in Lebensmitteln vertreten wir die Schweiz an den vom europäischen Netzwerk organisierten Sitzungen und Arbeitsgruppen. Ziel dieser Zusammenarbeit ist es, den Austausch zu fördern, die Empfehlungen der EU-Referenzlaboratorien weiterzuleiten und die Rückmeldungen der mit den amtlichen Kontrollen beauftragten kantonalen Laboratorien aufzunehmen.

Wir organisieren jährliche Erfahrungsaustausche in der Analytik von chemischen Elementen in Lebensmitteln.

 

Die 2. Tagung NRL für toxische Elemente findet am 19.11.2020 statt. Für weitere Informationen bitte Elements@metas.ch anschreiben.

Eidgenössisches Institut für Metrologie
Referenzlabor für chemische Elemente
Lindenweg 50
CH-3003 Bern-Wabern  

Letzte Änderung 17.07.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Eidgenössisches Institut für Metrologie
Referenzlabor für chemische Elemente
Lindenweg 50
CH-3003 Bern-Wabern
T +41 58 387 01 11
Elements@metas.ch

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.metas.ch/content/metas/de/home/dl/nationale-referenzlaboratorien/referenzlabor-chemische-elemente.html