Ionising radiation

Portrait

Ionisierende_Strahlung_P

A precise knowledge of the ionising radiation dose is vital in the field of medical radiotherapy. METAS calibrates measurement instruments for radiotherapy and nuclear medicine, thereby contributing to the safety of patients and hospital personnel. The Ordinance of the FDJP on the measurement equipment for ionising radiation (StMmV) regulates the marketing and the utilisation of this equipment in the domains of radiation protection and medicine.

The measuring equipment requires pattern approval and initial verification. To maintain the measurement stability periodic verifications are also mandatory.

METAS and two verification laboratories authorized by him, the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI) in Villigen, and the Institute of Radiation Physics (IRA) in Lausanne, provide the services required by the ordinance.

METAS checks dosimeters of high energy radiotherapy facilities. METAS has an accelerator for high-energy electron and photons beams and a 60Co irradiation unit.

The dose is disseminated the SI unit Gray (Gy = J / kg).

METAS is also responsible for the verification of activimeters used in nuclear medicine for the dosage of radiopharma-ceuticals.

The activity is disseminated in the SI unit Becquerel (Bq = 1/s).

To ensure traceability of dose measurements at the Swiss level and remain at the forefront in its field of competence, the laboratory "Radiotherapy" develops and maintains two primary standards for the realization of the absorbed dose to water: water calorimeter and Fricke dosimeter.

Services

Ionisierende_Strahlung_DL

The technical field "Radiotherapy" has an electron accelerator and a 60Co irradiation unit. The electron accelerator allows to generate high-energy electron and photon beams of variable radiation qualities (energies).

To determine the calibration coefficient for absorbed dose to water of a dosimeter belonging to a client, the dosimeter is compared with a secondary standard ionisation chamber in a water phantom under well defined conditions. The secondary standard ionization chambers are calibrated against the primary standards.

Verifications
METAS offers the following verifications:

• Absorbed dose to water for photon radiation: tissue phantom ratio TPR2010 between 0.639 and 0.802
(4 MV to 21 MV)
• Absorbed dose to water for electron radiation: half-value depth R50 between 1.75 g/cm2 and 8.54 g/cm2 (5 MeV to 22 MeV)
• Absorbed dose to water for 60Co radiation
• Absorbed dose to water for soft X-rays up to 100 kV
• Air kerma for 60Co radiation
• Air kerma for soft X-rays up to 100 kV
• Verification of activimeters

The mandated verification laboratories offer the following verifications:

• Radiotherapy dosimeters for X-rays from 150 kV to 300 kV (IRA)
• Radiology dosimeters (IRA)
• Surface contamination monitors (PSI, IRA)
• Measuring devices for ambient dose rate (PSI, IRA)
• Deep well ionization chambers (IRA)
• Measuring devices for radon gas (PSI)

Research and development

Ionisierende_Strahlung_F&E

Primary standard: water calorimeter

With the water calorimeter, the absorbed dose in water Dw is determined by the highly accurate measurement of a temperature difference. The temperature increase induced by the absorbed dose of radiation is measured by very high sensitive thermometers in a closed glass vessel that is filled with ultra-pure water at 4 ° C, the temperature for optimum thermal stability. This primary standard is primarily used for radiation of high energy photons.

Primary standard: Fricke dosimetry

The Fricke dosimeter is a chemical type dosimeter, using the oxidant effect of ionizing radiation on a solution containing Fe2+. The dose of radiation absorbed in a solution of Fricke (iron(II)-ammonium-sulfate) converts the Fe2+ ions to Fe3+ ions, their concentration being measured by UV absorption spectrometry. The Fricke dosimeter is particularly suited to the primary standard role for electron radiation.

The primary standards are checked regularly through international comparison measurements.

Current project

Development of a new protocol for dose-area-product dosimetry for scanning proton beams using plane-parallel ionization chambers, in collaboration with the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI).

to the top Last modification 01.02.2017

Contact

Federal Institute of Metrology
Verfication Laboratory Dosimeters
Lindenweg 50
CH-3003 Bern-Wabern
T
+41 58 387 01 11
Contact
Federal Institute of Metrology
Verfication Laboratory Activimeters
Lindenweg 50
CH-3003 Bern-Wabern
T
+41 58 387 01 11
Contact

Rayonnement ionisant

Portrait

Ionisierende_Strahlung_P1

En radiothérapie médicale, il est indispensable de connaître exactement la dose de rayonnement ionisant. METAS vérifie les appareils de mesure pour la radiothérapie et la médecine nucléaire, contribuant ainsi non seulement à la sécurité des patientes et des patients, mais aussi à celle du personnel hospitalier. L'Ordonnance du DFJP sur les instruments de mesure des rayonnements ionisants (OIMRI) régit la mise sur le marché et l'utilisation de ces instruments dans les domaines de la radioprotection et de la médecine.

Les instruments de mesure de rayonnements ionisants sont soumis à une approbation ordinaire et à une vérification initiale. Des vérifications ultérieures périodiques sont également exigées afin de maintenir la stabilité de mesure ces instruments.

METAS ainsi que deux laboratoires de vérification mandatés par lui, l'Institut Paul Scherrer (PSI), à Villigen, et, l'Institut de Radiophysique (IRA), à Lausanne, proposent les prestations requises par l'ordonnance. 

METAS vérifie les dosimètres d'installations de radiothéra-pie de haute énergie. METAS dispose d'un accélérateur pour des faisceaux d'électrons et de photons de haute énergie ainsi que d'une unité d'irradiation de 60Co.

La dose est disséminée dans l'unité SI Gray (Gy = J/kg).

METAS est également responsable de la vérification des activimètres utilisés en médecine nucléaire pour le dosage de produits radiopharmaceutiques.

L'activité est disséminée dans l'unité SI Becquerel (Bq = 1/s).

Afin de garantir la traçabilité des mesures de dose au niveau suisse et de rester à la pointe dans son domaine de compétence, le laboratoire «Radiothérapie» développe et entretient deux étalons primaires pour la réalisation de la dose absorbée dans l'eau: le calorimètre à eau et le dosimètre de Fricke.

Prestations

Ionisierende_Strahlung_DL

Le domaine technique «Radiothérapie» dispose d'un accélé-rateur d'électrons ainsi que d'une unité d'irradiation de 60Co. L'accélérateur permet de générer des faisceaux d'électrons et de photons de haute énergie de qualités de rayonnement (énergies) variables.

Pour déterminer le coefficient d'étalonnage en dose absorbée dans l'eau d'un dosimètre appartenant à un client, ce dosimètre est comparé avec une chambre d'ionisation étalon secondaire dans un fantôme d'eau dans des conditions bien définies. Les chambres d'ionisation étalon secondaire sont rattachées aux étalons primaires.

Vérifications

METAS offre les vérifications suivantes :
• Dose absorbée dans l'eau pour le rayonnement de photons: rapport tissu-fantôme TPR2010 entre 0.639 et 0.802 (4 MV à 21 MV)
• Dose absorbée dans l'eau pour le rayonnement d'électrons: profondeur de demi-atténuation R50 entre 1.75 g/cm2 et 8.54 g/cm2 (5 MeV à 22 MeV)
• Dose absorbée dans l'eau pour le rayonnement 60Co
• Dose absorbée dans l'eau pour les rayons X mous jusqu'à 100 kV
• Kerma dans l'air pour le rayonnement 60Co
• Kerma dans l'air pour les rayons X mous jusqu'à 100 kV
• Vérification d'activimètres

Les laboratoires de vérification mandatés offrent les vérifications suivantes :

• Dosimètres de radiothérapie pour les rayons X de 150 kV à 300 kV (IRA)
• Dosimètres de radiodiagnostic (IRA)
• Moniteurs de contamination de surface (PSI, IRA)
• Appareils de mesure de débit de dose ambiante (PSI, IRA)
• Chambres d'ionisation à puits (IRA)
• Appareils de mesure de gaz de radon (PSI)
 

Recherche et développement

Ionisierende_Strahlung_F&E

Etalon primaire : calorimètre à eau
Avec le calorimètre à eau, la dose absorbée dans l'eau Dw est déterminée par la mesure extrêmement précise d'une différence de température. L'augmentation de température induite par la dose de rayonnement absorbé est mesurée par des thermomètres à très haute sensibilité dans un récipient en verre fermé et rempli d'eau ultra-pure à 4°C, température de stabilité thermique optimale.

Cet étalon primaire est avant tout utilisé pour le rayonnement de photons de haute énergie.

Etalon primaire: dosimètre de Fricke
Le dosimètre de Fricke est un dosimètre de type chimique, utilisant l'effet oxydant du rayonnement ionisant sur une solution de Fe2+. La dose de rayon- nement absorbé dans une solution de Fricke (sulfate d'ammonium ferreux) oxyde les ions ferreux Fe2+ en ions ferriques Fe3+ dont la concentration est mesurée par spectrométrie d'absorption de rayons UV.
Le dosimètre de Fricke se prête particulièrement au rôle d'étalon primaire pour le rayonnement d'électrons.

Les étalons primaires sont régulièrement vérifiés lors de mesures de comparaison internationales.

Projet en cours
Développement d'un nouveau protocole de dosimétrie produit-dose-surface pour des faisceaux de protons à balayage en utilisant des chambres d’ionisation planes parallèles, en collaboration avec l'Institut Paul Scherrer (PSI).
 

vers le haut Dernière modification 01.02.2017

Contact

Institut fédéral de métrologie
Laboratoire de vérification dosimètres
Lindenweg 50
CH-3003 Berne-Wabern
T
+41 58 387 01 11
Contact
Institut fédéral de métrologie
Laboratoire de vérification activimètres
Lindenweg 50
CH-3003 Berne-Wabern
T
+41 58 387 01 11
Contact