National reference laboratories

foodsafety-12

Undesirable materials in foodstuffs may pose a health risk. With consumer protection in mind, the level of such substances in foodstuffs is regulated by law and monitoring carried out to detect their presence. In order to be able to carry out the investigations needed for controls of this nature, comparable measurement methods are needed. This task is performed by the national reference laboratories.
With the new Swiss Foodstuffs Act, collaboration with the European Union has been stepped up in the area of food safety. Switzerland participates in the network made up of EU reference laboratories (EU-RL) and national reference laboratories (NRL). National reference laboratories have been designated for this purpose in Switzerland.
The national reference laboratories function as interfaces between the cantonal laboratories appointed to carry out the official controls and the European reference laboratories. They ensure that the monitoring activities are harmonised. They coordinate the development and implementation of methods, pass on the information, take account of research and provide scientific and technical support to the competent authorities.

In the light of its expertise, METAS has been nominated by the Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office (FSVO) as the reference laboratory for polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons in foodstuffs and the reference laboratory for chemical elements in foodstuffs.
 

to the top Last modification 24.04.2018

Laboratoires nationaux de référence

foodsafety-12

Les substances indésirables présentes dans les denrées alimentaires peuvent nuire à la santé. La teneur de ces substances dans les denrées alimentaires est réglementée par la loi et les denrées sont contrôlées en conséquence afin de protéger les consommateurs. Des méthodes de mesures comparables sont requises pour pouvoir effectuer les analyses nécessaires à ces contrôles. Les laboratoires nationaux de référence veillent à mettre en œuvre de telles méthodes.

La nouvelle loi fédérale sur les denrées alimentaires et les objets usuels a renforcé la collaboration entre la Suisse et l’Union européenne dans le domaine de la sécurité des denrées alimentaires. La Suisse participe au réseau composé des laboratoires de référence européens et nationaux. À cette fin, des laboratoires nationaux de référence ont été désignés en Suisse.

Les laboratoires nationaux de référence font l’interface entre les laboratoires cantonaux chargés d’effectuer les contrôles officiels et les laboratoires européens de référence. Ils garantissent que les activités de contrôle sont harmonisées. Ils coordonnent le développement et l’implémentation de méthodes, transmettent des informations, tiennent compte de la recherche et fournissent une assistance scientifique et technique aux autorités compétentes.

En raison de ses compétences, METAS a été désigné, par l’Office fédéral de la sécurité alimentaire et des affaires vétérinaires (OSAV), laboratoire national de référence pour les hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques et pour les éléments chimiques dans les denrées alimentaires.

vers le haut Dernière modification 04.05.2018