The watt balance: an experiment to redefine the kilogram

In future, the kilogram is to be defined using natural constants instead of the international prototype kilogram in Paris. One of the experiments contributing to this goal is the watt balance. It is a complex two-part experiment based on a precise comparison of mechanical and electrical power.

Watt-Waage

The watt balance: a highly complex measuring instrument for the purpose of defining the kilogram

Metrologists are working on experiments intended to serve as a basis for a new definition of the kilogram. Here, METAS is focussing on the watt balance principle. This approach involves a precise comparison of mechanical and electrical power. A complex, two-part experiment is making it possible to relate the kilogram to a natural constant – Planck’s constant – using electrical units. In practice, the watt balance is a highly complex measuring instrument. It is required to measure several variables simultaneously with the utmost accuracy.

Why replace the prototype kilogram?

The kilogram is the sole remaining unit still defined by means of a material measure, the prototype kilogram in Paris. The other units have by now been redefined using physical natural constants. If a unit is defined using a material measure, we are greatly dependent on this physical embodiment. If the definition of a unit is based on a physical natural constant instead, reference standards for this unit can be realised in any well-equipped precision measurement laboratory. More importantly, however, a system of units must consistently define measurement units in science and technology, yet also satisfy the needs of business and society. It will need to be revised regularly in line with scientific and technological progress, on account of the fact that this progress is constantly posing new challenges for metrology and its fundamental principles.

to the top Last modification 02.11.2016

Contact

Beat Jeckelmann Federal Institute of Metrology
Research and Development
Lindenweg 50
CH-3003 Bern-Wabern
T
+41 58 387 02 97
Contact

La balance de Watt: une expérience pour redéfinir le kilogramme

Le kilogramme doit être redéfini en s'appuyant sur des constantes physiques, et non plus sur le kilogramme étalon qui se trouve à Paris. L'expérience dite Balance de Watt y contribue. Cette expérience complexe est basée sur une comparaison précise des puissances mécanique et électrique, qui a lieu en deux phases.

watt-waage

La balance de Watt: un instrument de mesure complexe pour redéfinir le kilogramme

Les physiciens travaillent sur des expériences orientées vers une redéfinition du kilogramme. METAS y contribue avec le projet dit Balance de watt. Cette expérience est basée sur une comparaison précise des puissances mécanique et électrique, qui a lieu en deux phases. Cette expérience complexe permet de relier l'unité de masse, le kilogramme, à une constante fondamentale, la constante de Planck. Dans la pratique, la balance de watt est un instrument hautement sophistiqué, qui permet de mesurer en même temps plusieurs grandeurs avec une exactitude extrême.

Pourquoi vouloir absolument redéfinir le kilogramme originel?

Le kilogramme constitue la dernière unité de base qui est encore définie par un étalon, à savoir le kilogramme étalon entreposé à Paris. Les autres unités sont définies en s'appuyant sur des constantes physiques. Une définition au moyen d'un étalon est essentiellement dépendante de la forme matérielle de ce dernier. Si la définition d'une unité repose sur une constante physique, les dimensions de référence pour cette unité peuvent être obtenues dans chaque laboratoire de mesure de précision bien équipé. Il est néanmoins encore plus important qu'un système d'unités détermine de manière incontestable les unités de mesure dans les domaines de la science et de la technique, en restant conforme aux besoins du commerce et de la société. Le système doit être continuellement adapté aux progrès technico-scientifiques, car ceux-ci ne cessent de poser de nouvelles exigences à la technique de mesure et à ses bases.

Publications

vers le haut Dernière modification 01.03.2019

Contact

Beat Jeckelmann Institut fédéral de métrologie
Recherche et développement
Lindenweg 50
CH-3003 Berne-Wabern
T
+41 58 387 02 97
Contact