EU/EFTA Citizens: Living and Working in Switzerland

EU/EFTA
EU/EFTA

Are you planning to work in Switzerland, to join your spouse or family or to study at a Swiss university?

The conditions applicable for residence in Switzerland are dependent on the reason for your stay.

Currently the same conditions apply to all citizens of EU/EFTA member states with the exception of Croatian nationals.

Since 1 January 2017, Croatian nationals benefit from the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons. However, transitory provisions apply.

You will find the documents relevant to your stay in the table below (according to your nationality).

EU/EFTA

Countries of the EU/EFTA

Austria   Finland   Latvia   Portugal  
Belgium   France   Liechtenstein   Romania  
Bulgaria   Germany   Lithuania   Slovakia  
Croatia   Greece   Luxembourg   Slovenia  
Czech Republic   Hungary   Malta   Spain  
Cyprus   Iceland   Netherlands   Sweden  
Denmark   Ireland   Norway    
Estonia   Italy   Poland    

Documentation

Croatia

Croatia

Croatia joined the European Union (EU) on 1 July 2013. Each time a new member joins the EU, the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) is supplemented by an additional protocol. The extension of the AFMP to Croatia was negotiated in Protocol III, which provides full free movement of persons for Croatian nationals following a ten-year transitional period.

On 17 June 2016, the Swiss Parliament approved Protocol III and authorised the Federal Council to ratify it once an agreement to control immigration was reached with the EU that was compatible with  Swiss law. This condition was fulfilled when the Swiss Parliament voted to implement Article 121a of the Federal Constitution on 16 December 2016. With the ratification of Protocol III on 16 December 2016, the AFMP has been extended to Croatia.

On 1 January 2017, Protocol III came into force. Since then, special transitional measures with quotas and restrictions regarding the access to the labour market (priority clause for local workers as well as control of wages and work conditions) have applied to Croatian nationals.

More detailed information regarding the admission of Croatian nationals is provided in the factsheet "Croatia”.

Documentation

United Kingdom (Brexit)

Following the United Kingdom’s departure from the EU and the end of the transition period, the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) no longer applies to relations between Switzerland and the UK. The two countries have therefore concluded the agreement on citizens’ acquired rights, which will allow Swiss citizens living in the UK and UK citizens living in Switzerland to remain in their respective host countries.

The agreement on acquired citizens’ rights came into force on 1 January 2021.

UK nationals who wish to come to live and/or work in Switzerland after 31 December 2020 are subject to the provisions of the Foreign Nationals and Integration Act (FNIA). They are subject to quotas and so their employers in Switzerland must first apply for a work permit from the competent authority.
 
For more information please see : United Kingdom

Permits

The cantons are responsible for issuing permits. For detailed information on the application procedure (where to apply, which form to fill out, how long it will take, etc.), please contact the competent cantonal authorities:

Last modification 22.12.2020

Top of page

Citoyennes et citoyens de l’UE/AELE : Vivre et travailler en Suisse

UE/AELE
UE/AELE

Vous planifiez de travailler en Suisse, de rejoindre votre conjoint ou votre famille ou encore d’étudier à l’Université?

Les conditions qui doivent être remplies pour séjourner en Suisse dépendent du motif du séjour.

Actuellement, les mêmes conditions s’appliquent à tous les ressortissants des pays de l’UE/AELE.

Vous trouverez tous les documents importants dans le tableau ci-dessous (selon la nationalité).
 

UE/AELE

Pays de l’UE/AELE

Allemagne   Estonie   Lettonie    Portugal  
Autriche   Finlande   Liechtenstein    Roumanie 
Belgique   France   Lituanie   Slovaquie
Bulgarie   Grèce   Luxembourg   Slovénie
Chypre   Hongrie   Malte   Suède
Croatie   Irlande   Norvège   Tchèquie
Danemark   Islande   Pays-Bas    
Espagne   Italie Pologne    

Documentation

Croatie

Croatie

Le 1er juillet 2013, la Croatie est entrée dans l’Union européenne (UE). Une adaptation de l’accord sur la libre circulation des personnes (ALCP) entre la Suisse et l’UE est nécessaire chaque fois qu’un nouvel Etat membre adhère à l’UE (protocole additionnel). L’extension de l’ALCP à la Croatie a été négociée dans le protocole III. Ce protocole est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 2017 et prévoit que la libre circulation des personnes s’appliquera de manière pleine et entière à la Croatie après une phase transitoire de dix ans.

Depuis le 1er janvier 2022, les mêmes conditions sont en vigueur pour tous les ressortissants des pays de l’UE/AELE, croates inclus. Les mesures transitoires contenant des restrictions liées au marché du travail (priorité des travailleurs en Suisse et respect des conditions de rémunération et de travail) ainsi que des quotas ne s’appliquent plus vis-à-vis des ressortissants croates.

Si l'immigration des travailleurs croates devait dépasser un certain seuil, la Suisse pourra invoquer une clause de sauvegarde et limiter à nouveau le nombre d'autorisations à partir du 1er janvier 2023 et au plus tard jusqu'à fin 2026.

Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements dans la Circulaire "Croatie".

Royaume-Uni

Suite au retrait du Royaume-Uni de l’Union européenne (UE) et à la fin de la période transitoire, l’accord sur la libre circulation des personnes (ALCP) n’est plus applicable dans les relations entre la Suisse et le Royaume-Uni. Aussi les deux pays ont-ils conclu l’accord sur les droits acquis des citoyens qui vise à permettre aux ressortissants de chacun des deux États de demeurer dans l’autre une fois que l’ALCP sera devenu caduc en la matière.

L’accord sur les droits acquis des citoyens est entré en vigueur au 1er janvier 2021.

Les ressortissants du Royaume-Uni qui veulent entrer ou travailler en Suisse après le 31 décembre 2020 sont soumis aux dispositions de la loi fédérale sur les étrangers et l’intégration (LEI) et, partant, aux contingents. L’employeur en Suisse doit donc au préalable déposer une demande d’autorisation de travail auprès de l’autorité cantonale compétente.
 
Pour davantage d’informations veuillez consulter la page suivante : Royaume-Uni

Autorisations

L’établissement des autorisations relève de la compétence des cantons. Vous trouverez des informations détaillées sur les formalités administratives applicables à votre demande (lieu du dépôt de la demande, formulaires disponibles, etc.) auprès des autorités cantonales compétentes en la matière. Les adresses se trouvent sous :

Dernière modification 24.12.2021

Début de la page